10 Comments

I'm also a long time admirer of your work; if you're willing to write, I'm happy to read.

Expand full comment

I've enjoyed all the topics, even or especially the day when you seemed to think cacio e pepe had egg in it, like carbonara. But if you want to cut to 7 x 7 or something like that or even to 6 x 7 (which is 42 . . . really!) that would be o.k. I tend to run a bit behind. This may be the fault of Jeet Heer. That guy needs to take a few minutes off.

Expand full comment

Just right for me.

Expand full comment

I just voted with my ApplePay. Please keep doing it! I read as much as I can.

Expand full comment

I read everything and still want more. In fairness, I read the entirety of Easily Distracted in chronological order after I discovered it in 2015, so perhaps I'm a bit of an outlier. Like Robin, I'm more worried about sustainability for you than anything; I don't know what it was like for you as a writer, but as a reader I did not enjoy the blog hiatuses at all and I don't want them back.

I could live without The Photo and Cookbook Survivor, but I'd rather they be replaced by more writing than simply removed. And since it seems like those outlets help with the "heavier" stuff, I worry that if you cut them you'd end up writing less. Basically, format this thing in whatever way puts the maximum sustainable amount of your thoughts on my screen and I'll be satisfied.

Expand full comment

I always read, unless I am not interested in the topic. I first encountered a piece of yours about higher education, which is why I signed up. I always read those topics when you send them. I would hate for those to be reduced in frequency. I also really like your book reviews. I do wonder how YOU can keep up with it. If you cut back to three times a week, that might be a more reasonable burden. (Cookbook Survivor is awfully amusing, but do you really want to devote every Saturday to it?)

Expand full comment

Agree with No one.

Expand full comment

Long, long term fan of yours--reading since late 2000s--but I feel it's too much. I end up just not reading *any* of your writing. I would rather something once, twice a week, but not something once every month.

Expand full comment

If I'm honest, though I really want to and am *always* richly rewarded when I read, I'm not keeping up. But that might say more about my own time management/life than anything else.

Expand full comment